About A|N Best of Design Awards 2016.

The Architect’s Newspaper is proud to announce its third annual Best Of Design Awards, a unique project-based awards program that showcases great buildings and building elements.

Entrants are invited to submit completed works in 18 categories that reflect A|N’s editorial coverage, as well as the interests and obsessions of our readers. From the winners of these categories, one will be chosen as Project of the Year.

The jury, composed of prominent architects and design professionals, will judge entries based on several criteria—strength of the presentation, evidence of innovation, creative use of new technology, sustainability, and, most importantly, good design.




EastMidwestSouthwestWest Adaptive ReuseArch LightingArch ModelsBuilding RenovationCivicDigitalFacadeInt, Non ResInt, ResLandscapeRes, MultiRes, SingleStudentTempUnbuiltUrbanYoung A

Submission Categories.

  • Building of the YearThe Architect’s Newspaper publishes four regional editions—East, West, Midwest, and Southwest. We’re seeking the best new building in each of these regions.
  • Adaptive ReuseAdaptive Reuse
  • Architectural LightingThis category includes all types of architectural lighting applications – interior or exterior;permanent or temporary installations. Judges will be looking for visually appealing projects with creative technical solutions.
  • Architectural ModelsWhichever form is your favorite—virtual or analog, interior or exterior, landscaping or urban— show the world how you build, just at a smaller scale. Your model does not need to have come to fruition. All scaled architecture types are eligible.
  • Building RenovationBuilding Renovation
  • Civic InstitutionsThis category is in pursuit of educational, academic, governmental, or social institutions whose design not only elevates, but also is central to the organization’s mission.
  • Digital Fabrication We’re seeking the best architectural applications of building components. These can be digital fabrications or parametric designs.
  • FacadeFacade
  • Interior, Non-ResidentialInterior, Non-Residential
  • Interior, ResidentialInterior, Residential
  • LandscapeLandscape
  • Residential, Multi-UnitResidential, Multi-Unit
  • Residential, Single FamilyResidential, Single Family
  • Student WorkProjects that are built or unbuilt are eligible. Students must be in an accredited architectural school or graduated from their program with in the last academic year.
  • Temporary InstallationWhether your installation is a site-specific exhibition or it created an entirely new site, enter your work that showcases materials, techniques, and invention.
  • UnbuiltAny building project that got left behind or didn’t get it’s chance to see the light of day—a second or non-placing competition entry, a project for a client who decided to go another route, etc.—this category gives your projects in the drawers a second chance.
  • Urban DesignBuilt or unbuilt, enter your design plans that focus on groupings of buildings, streets, and public spaces intended to create a more sustainable and functional city or neighborhood.
  • Young Architects AwardEmerging architects or firms often have the talent but don’t always get the glory. This category seeks to celebrate the work of young practices (10 years or less) or professionals (35 years of age or less). Show us your body of work—all project types are eligible.

© Photo, Overland Partners—Best Fabrication Winner 2015


Dates and Details.


August 2015

Submission deadline

November 2, 2015


November 11, 2015

Publication and announcement of winners

December 2015

Award Details.

Winners will be published in A|N’s Best Of Design feature, which will appear nationally in our January 2016 print issue. Winning projects will also be featured on our website, where they will reach national and international audiences, and will be promoted via social media. In addition to the winners, the jury will select two honorable mentions for each category, which will be featured as part of our online coverage. Winners will also receive a signed print from James Wines of SITE.

2015 Best of Design Award Winners.
Building of the Year Fabrication Project Facade
Landscape Multi Family Residential Non-Residential Interiors
Residential Interior Single Family House Student Built Work


Submission Terms and Guidelines.

In order for a project to be eligible for submission it must have been completed within one year’s time of the submission deadline. Landscape projects must have been completed within two year’s time of the submission deadline.

Entrants may submit as many projects in as many categories as they wish, but must register each individually and pay a separate registration fee for each submission.

Registration fees per submission are $125 for professionals and $40 for students.

Registrations must be completed via the registration portal linked to this page. Submissions must be made through the submission portal linked to this page.

Submissions must include photographs of the finished project and a written description (150-word limit). Drawings may also be included if they support the presentation.

The jury will be blind. Submissions must not include the firm name, logo, or any other identifying mark.

Images must be submitted in PDF format, and each submission can have up to 9 images (more detailed information on registration page). Winners and honorable mentions will be contacted for high-resolution materials for publication, and will be requested to submit a list of the project’s client, design team members, design consultants, contractors, subcontractors, and materials and systems suppliers/manufacturers.

All submissions must be received by A|N no later than midnight PST on the submission deadline—Nov 2, 2015.

The Best Of Design Awards is open to U.S. and international architects, but projects submitted must be located within the United States.

The Architect’s Newspaper reserves publication rights for all materials submitted as part of the Best Of Design Awards program, extending to all forms of media or content delivery, whether print, online, digital, mobile, or otherwise, now or hereafter created.

Registration fees are nonrefundable. Submission is no guarantee of publication or an award.


For questions regarding the Best Of Design Awards please contact A|N Special Projects Manager Randi Greenberg at rgreenberg@archpaper.com.

For questions regarding marketing opportunities please contact A|N Publisher
Diana Darling at ddarling@archpaper.com.

The Architect’s Newspaper provides timely news and cultural reporting on the built environment through four regional editions – East, Midwest, Southwest, and West – as well as online at archpaper.com and through a series of targeted e-newsletters. Every issue delivers our trademark blend of topical essays, opinionated columns, project analyses, firm profiles, interviews, new products, reviews of exhibitions and books, and calendars of events in a handy and handsome full-color tabloid. A|N reaches a highly engaged on-line community of hundreds of thousands through our e-news, blog, and social media platforms. A|N is the must-read publication for architects, planners, landscape architects, designers, and allied professionals.

Contact US

Contact Form


Thanks for your enquiry!

* Please fill all fields correctly.